All that is wrong with the world…

April 5, 2010

Seemingly poor conduct by police in Miami Beach

Filed under: Issues...the world...etc.. — Tags: , , , — allthatiswrong @ 2:21 am

At approximately 9:40 P.M. on the 2nd of April right across the Baltic Hotel on 77th street in Miami Beach, I witnessed some very poor conduct by what were apparently police officers. I didn’t see exactly how it started, but it seemed that these two officers grabbed a guy and a girl just walking by. These police were undercover or something, at least they were not in uniform and were in a plain vehicle. They parked diagonally in the middle of the street blocking normal traffic, and then started harassing this couple.

One of the first things I heard that drew my attention was on of the officers patting down the male. He seemed quite rough and was insulting him the entire time, until finally reaching down his pants and saying “Where are your nuts at? You’ve got nut’s don’t you?”. That, in and of itself should not be considered acceptable. What followed was almost an hour of insults and harassment, when all that this couple seemed to have been doing is walking by. Additionally, they left their car parked in the middle of the street, insulting drivers who were trying to coordinate to get around it.

I don’t have all the details of what happened, and perhaps these officers had to maintain a certain character or had some legitimate reason for their behavior. On the surface however, it seems to be just very poor conduct. It shouldn’t matter who somebody is or what they have done, everybody is entitled to be treated with respect by law enforcement. When police officers harass and insult people instead of just charging them and go so far as to insult people just driving by, it is hard to come up with an argument to justify this behavior. I am glad to be stating this anonymously, given the departments past behavior towards people recording the actions of police officers.

I recorded as much as I could – the audio has a lot of static, but you can hear the voices and dialog clear enough most of the time. I can’t upload MP3 files to wordpress for free, so I have uploaded the file on RapidShare which is a reliable and fast filehosting service. No registration is required nor are there any advertisements, just a short countdown timer. The link is http://rapidshare.com/files/372168217/VCE_090224_002.MP3.html and the file is about 36MB.

If anyone could advise me how to create or provide a clearer version I would be quite grateful. I would be interested to hear other people’s interpretations of what I saw, and what they can hear for themselves.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m trying use my phone number for face book so I can have them send me a code in that thee only phone i have

    Comment by faye hark ness — December 11, 2014 @ 4:33 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

