All that is wrong with the world…

November 8, 2011

J.J. Abrams is vastly overrated

Filed under: Entertainment — Tags: , , , — allthatiswrong @ 5:03 pm

J. J. Abrams has to be one of the most overrated people working in Hollywood for the last few years. What’s weird is he isn’t considered as such, rather he is very popular with critics and the public and widely considered to make good films. The reason I consider him overrated is because his films all seem to follow a formula. He tends to do a few things very well which also happen to be the things that overshadow the flaws in his movies. A good example might be the Star Trek film from 2009. Star Trek wasn’t really true to the spirit of Star Trek and indeed had many things that were out of place in a Star Trek film or just didn’t make sense. However he managed to focus on the things that fans care about and so, everybody praised the film. The Kobayashi Maru, Captain Pike, Spock Prime, etc. There is so much wrong with that movie as enjoyable as it is, but it all gets ignored because people see familiar elements that they like and that’s what dominates. What’s more they see their beloved universe realized with a proper budget, which blinds them even further.

J. J. Abrams seems very similar to Drew Goddard was as a writer on Buffy, which is to give little nods to the fans such as having Buffy learn that Xander lied only for it to ultimately lead to nothing. It was only there as a reference to make fans excited and start talking which somehow stops them from realizing that it was nothing more than what it was. I think it’s great when shows or films that are part of a franchise give little nods to fans, but that should not be the focus. With J. J. Abrams films it seems to be and he does it so well that people stop caring about the numerous plot holes and character flaws. J.J. Abrams has done what almost every other direct in Hollywood has tried to do…to make people think your movie is great by hiding behind cheap nods and visuals. Well, good for him, I suppose.

5 Comments »

  1. Thank you!

    As I choke down another season 4 episode of Fringe, I find myself wondering “What is wrong with JJ Abrams?” I don’t blame the network one bit for putting this once great show on the cancellation bubble.

    And this new show, “Alcatraz”…Aack! Excuse me while I blow chunks…

    I’m just happy I’m not alone in my suffering.

    Comment by Mikrovision — January 24, 2012 @ 10:50 pm

  2. I’m just glad to know I’m not the only one who is not a fan of his work.

    Comment by Richard — May 15, 2013 @ 6:46 pm

  3. Hooray, I’m not alone!
    I CAN’T STAND ABRAMS…
    The kid’s a talentless hack of the highest caliber… Let’s face it, if it wasn’t for his precious state-of-the-art CGI wizards who MADE HIS FILMS, he’d be an absolute nobody… How’d he get where he is today? His rich, influential Hollywood Parents PLACED HIM! Then he’s got his brilliant PR to make things happen for him and his butt-buddy writers (ALL hacks) do the writing… But his style is ALL IMAGERY and rollercoaster ride thrills–Image over Substance, hollow with nothing inside… That’s all that today’s audiences care for though: heart-pounding thrills and over the top CGI not acting and not characters and not story…
    Basically ANYONE could do Abrams stuff IF they had millions of dollars to throw into sets, CGI, and all the other flash…

    Furthermore, because he’s into the fantasy/SF field like Spielberg and both are Jewish he’s being hailed as the New Steven Spielberg (GASP! PUKE!)…

    Furthermore, where am I coming from? I’m a long-time first generation Trek fan, and I found both of Abrams Star Trek films to be absolute disasters IF you can look beyond the flash flying into your eyes… VERY poor writing, absolute violations of the integrity of Trek’s cornerstones and philosophy, and the whole universe Literally turned upside down to account for Abrams own Ignorance and Non-Caring for Star Trek (which he freely admits to!)…
    Abrams’ Hollywood PR influence HANDED HIM the Trek franchise for which he was utterly unsuitable for! He remade it into a kiddie genre akin to Transformers (and aimed at the same YOUNG and IMMATURE Audience!).
    Naturally it made money by handing it over to Newcomers who hadn’t a clue about True Star Trek! It was remade into a faux Star Wars mindless action rollercoaster ride franchise! All his films make NO SENSE when you Analyze the plots, but nobody bothers because they’re rated FOR THE THRILLS ALONE… With Trek, it was like being Handed a ready-made gold mine–with the miners and machinery ready to roll! The fanbase was there and Abrams could do no wrong except alienating the Original fans which he did so well (but they’re a dying breed–look at me!)..
    While all this was going on he kept emphasizing how much of a Star WARS fan he was and, behold, he was handed direction of Star Wars Episode VII!!

    Please keep this guy AWAY from ALL Science Fiction movies! Better yet, how about ALL movies!

    Comment by JTD — October 26, 2014 @ 3:05 pm

    • I totally agree with you. I was born in 1968 and have always been a Star Trek fan my whole life and JJ Abrams is one of the most clueless directors EVER. integrity means absolutely nothing to him. More and more these days it isn’t talent or quality that gets a person into the movie industry, but nepotism.

      Comment by Jozie — January 3, 2016 @ 8:20 pm

  4. I was born in 1987 and I totally agree with this too (in fact I found it by googling “jj Abrams is a hack”. I love most of Star Trek and like Star Wars (although am not a passionate fan of it; I kinda was when I was younger but these days I just see Star Wars- the original trilogy that is- as quality Space Opera entertainment, but not the heady high brow goodness that Star Trek is). I will confess that like many others for whom TNG was their first exposure to Star Trek I do not care for the original series (to me compared to what I am used to it seems to have low quality acting and writing that makes it seem like material from a B movie), but I can see how it was remarkable considering when it came out and the pioneering of the Star Trek setting and philosophy that it did, and I don’t knock anyone for liking it.

    JJ Abrams simply knows how to appeal to the lowest common denominator (or close to it), and to me the degree that he does that all the while claiming that what he makes are laboratory of love or tributes make me think that behind all of his money and inherited opportunity for entering the movie business he, at least when it comes to science fiction, has more in common with the plebeian crowd rather than intelligent fans with good taste who love the best years of Star Trek and other excellent sci fi/ space opera from its golden age; in my opinion TNG, Deep Space 9 (NOT Voyager or Enterprise), Babylon 5, Battlestar Galactica (the reboot) and- despite not being quite on par with the others- Farscape).

    Comment by Brian — May 18, 2016 @ 6:19 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

